Posted by: k67winn | March 16, 2015

Mermaid Monday 3-16-15

Happy Mermaid Monday…..March 16, 2015 edition.

About nine months ago, I purchased a piece of art at Ikea.  I liked the piece as she reminded me of a mermaid, despite the fact that the painting lacked the normal color schemes of blues and greens that one would associate with a mermaid painting.

DSC_0163

Fast forward to this past week….and I was poking around on Pinterest and they had some suggestions for me based on my pinned interest…..and low and behold there was the painting.  The piece (above) I purchased at Ikea is a copy of a portion of Gustav Klimt’s painting Water Serpents II that he did in 1904.  Now, I have spent the last week staring at the painting…..wondering how I never realized that it was indeed a mermaid…..and now that I KNOW…..I see dozens of little fish in the painting that I never noticed before.

Gustav Klimt’s Water Serpents II (what the original canvas looks like)

Naturally I have now done a bit of research on Gustav (yes, I feel like he and I are on a first name basis now), and am really drawn to his work….he seemed  to paint a lot of really strong women which I believe is a bit unusual for the time period.  So much of Gustav’s work is noted to have sexual undertones and symbolism in it, but that seems to be par for the course in art history.  Needless to say…..I love my picture all the more now that I know it’s a mermaid.  Serendipity at it’s best!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

