Posted by: k67winn | February 18, 2015

The Skinny…..Week 7

Week 7…..the skinny on my week.

1.  On my nightstand…….

Nightstand

The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett, Collage Lab by Bee Shay, The Nesting Place by Myquillyn Smith, Cloth Paper Scissors Jan/Feb 2015 Issue

2.  What I’m watching…..

I’m watching Scandal on Netflix……it’s addictive, I’m hooked and I can’t seem to stop till I have seen every episode.

3.  What I’m listening to……Podcasts!  I’m kind of late to the party…..as the world of podcast has exploded….there seems to be a podcast on everything imaginable.  I have dipped my toes in and started …..now when I walk the dog I’m listening to a podcast….specifically Girl on Guy, Creative Insurgents, and Balzer Designs.

4.  What I’m wondering about…….Is rudeness a genetic trait or is it a learned behavior?  I’m seriously wondering about this…not in a sarcastic kind of way….but in a bewildered kind of way.  Yes, there was an incident (there always is), and I was annoyed and stunned at how utterly rude the behavior was.  The incident involved some unruly children who were exhibiting ill-mannered behavior in a very loud way….and I was flummoxed by the fact that both their parents and grandparents were present and not one of the four adults tried to correct the behavior.   Did the parents not care or did they not see the behavior as rude?  Perhaps, they are just as rude in life so to them it was normal.  This made me think about my own upbringing.  I was taught manners like most children (or so I would like to think)….but I don’t recall any lessons or corrections in my behavior being made because I was being rude (that doesn’t mean it didn’t happen).  Maybe, some people instinctively know or realize if something is offensive and others are just missing that gene.

5. Things I learned this week……

  • It’s an old adage….but new to me! – Red at night, Sailor’s delight.  Red sky in morning, Sailor’s warning.  This means that a red sky at night forecast good weather, but a red sky in the morning means rain.
  • Murmuration – a group of Starlings.  Someone had posted a video on Facebook showing the Starlings whipping all around.  The next day on the way to the gym I saw the same thing in the sky above me (on a smaller scale)….now I will forever remember it’s called a murmuration.

Till next week…..Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

