Posted by: k67winn | February 11, 2015

Book Lover Here…..

I do so love a good book – and when I finish one I like to share (meaning….talk it to death) that experience with others. Unfortunately when I start talking books around my home….my house-full of men get a glazed look on their faces….I recognize this look…..as it’s the same one I feel wash over my face when they start talking sports.  So….I will share my thoughts on books here!

This blog post isn’t your typical book review, for the following reasons.  Number one; I try to abide by the golden rule of – If you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all.  So…..you won’t find a negative review here….I will only mention the books I did like.  Number two; I’m not looking to give myself homework assignments…..so there will not be any in-depth paragraphs about the book’s characters and plots.  Instead, I will list my “Take Aways”, and I always have something that I take away from a good book.

Last week I finished two books; Midnight Crossroads by Charlaine Harris and The Unexpected Waltz by Kim Wright – they are so very different – but I loved them both.

Midnight Crossroads by Charlaine Harris

Midnight Crossroads by Charlaine Harris

Take Aways:

  • I love, love, love Charlaine Harris
  • I love that the author uses characters that we know from her others series, it makes me feel more connected or invested in the story.
  • Charlaine Harris has this talent for being able to throw a multitude of elements into one book and make it work.
  • A pawn shop can be a magical place!  If objects could talk, I bet they would have some big stories to tell.
The Unexpected Waltz by Kim Wright

The Unexpected Waltz by Kim Wright

Take Aways:

  • I so want to learn to Ballroom Dance.
  • There is a rose variety called “Mermaid”.
  • Izvinite……means “Forgive Me” in Russian.
  • I wish there actually was an official Panera Bread Literary Society.
  • Often times I find that there is a sentence, paragraph, or passage that moves me…..so much so that I write it down.  From The Unexpected Waltz……
    • “I may have woken up beside a dead man once, but he woke up beside a dead woman every day.”
    • “I say izvinite – for every moment I have wasted.”

Thank you Charlaine Harris and Kim Wright for your marvelous books…..the hours I spent reading was time well spent!  If your looking for a good read, you can’t go wrong with either of these titles.

Happy Reading!

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

