Posted by: k67winn | January 20, 2015

Mermaid Monday, 1-19-15

Happy Mermaid Monday!!

It’s been a slow mermaid week for me.  I had zero sightings, one picture was forwarded to me, and I read two write ups (one about an author, the other on an artist) who coincidentally were mermaid lovers.  Unfortunately, nothing really blog worthy.  I did however, finish the book, Mermaids in Paradise by Lydia Millet.  It was a good read, a bit slow at the beginning but picked up when the mermaids were discovered.  I was a bit disappointed, as the mermaids didn’t play an active role in the book. They, the mermaids, were discovered, then there was the ensuing uproar and controversy about their discovery, and finally they escaped.  The bulk of the book was about the tourist who discovered them and how they tried to contain and control, unsuccessfully I might add, that discovery.  All in all, the book was entertaining and Millet writes very interesting characters.

Mermaid picture forwarded to me this week by a friend.  It was taken at a shave ice place in Florida.  It appears to be a soap dispenser or something along that line.

Above:  Mermaid picture forward to me by a friend.  It was taken at a Shave Ice place in Florida.  It appears to be a soap dispenser or something along that line.  Too cute!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

