Posted by: k67winn | March 18, 2014

Top of the Morn

I’m always rummaging the dollar bins of the local craft stores. Throughout February and early March, I found some great St. Patrick’s Day stamps……and this one stamp brought a real life story to mind. This story, I decided would be great for my Project Life book….worthy of a chuckle or two (at my expense). In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I thought I would share it here as well. First off, I feel I need to claim to be far brighter than this story portrays me to be. I blame the entire event on the love I have for my Irish lineage.

Many years ago, we had recently relocated to the Fort Stewart, Georgia area. As with many military posts, anyone wishing to gain entrance to the base must first present some sort of identification to the gate guards. After presenting my ID and being granted access to the base, the guard handed back my ID and said, “Top of the Morn”. I drove off with a smile on my face and the thought that Fort Stewart must have some sort of Irish history or affiliation. At days end I finally got the chance to relay the story to my husband….and discovered just how wrong I was. Fort Stewart is the home of the 3rd Infantry Division, whose nickname is “Rock of the Marne” (not “Top of the Morn”). Sadly…….no Irish affiliations at all, but we had a good laugh.

Homemade PL card to record my tale on and add to the story of me.

Homemade PL card to record my tale on and add to the story of me.

Responses

  1. Ha! This made me laugh!


Leave a Reply

Categories

