Posted by: k67winn | March 17, 2014

A Little Glue & Coffee

While I was in Virginia, I was fortunate enough to spend a few hours at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (VMFA). The place is amazing, so if you ever get the chance….GO! It’s free too! On this particular day they were showcasing several artists. The artists were set up in manner so that you could see how they create their work. I had the opportunity to spend a few minutes talking to Matt Lively (mattlively.com). He was using a technique with wood glue and coffee that I originally thought was the result of wood burning.

So I’ve been playing with wood glue and coffee ever since….and I’m really in love with the results. So I’ve attached a few pictures to give you an idea of the process.

Supplies:  wood glue, Folgers coffee, and tags.

Supplies: wood glue, Folgers coffee, and tags.

Step 1: Apply glue to tag.

Step 1: Apply glue to tag.

A little coffee goes a long way.....the amount in my palm is probably enough to do half a dozen tags.

A little coffee goes a long way…..the amount in my palm is probably enough to do half a dozen tags.

Step 2:  Sprinkle a bit of coffee on the glue and wait for the tag to dry.

Step 2: Sprinkle a bit of coffee on the glue and wait for the tag to dry.

Step 3: I like to use Archival Ink with my stamps.

Step 3: I like to use Archival Ink with my stamps.

Step 4: After letting the ink set, I went back and added some color to finish the tags off.  I used Distress Inks by Ranger.

Step 4: After letting the ink set, I went back and added some color to finish the tags off. I used Distress Inks by Ranger.

Loving the end result.

Loving the end result.

Tried a bunch of different colors...just for fun.

Tried a bunch of different colors…just for fun.

Also tried it on paper.

Also tried it on paper.

It was a lot of fun….hope you give it a try. If you do, make sure to post a picture for me.

Responses

  1. This is so pretty. I love it. I’ll have to try it out. Thanks.

    • Thanks….would love to see your results if you give it a try.

  2. This is way cool!!!!

    Take Care and God Bless 🙂 Kenny T

  3. That is so cool! Now I have another reason to love coffee 🙂

    • Thanks……I know, coffee just keeps getting better and better!

  4. I have got to try this. So cool!!

    • Let me know if you try it….would love to see the results.


Leave a Reply

Categories

